“Over the years the roof has been an ongoing concern with small repairs being carried out in order to mitigate the problems of a flat roof,” explained board member Lorie Davison in a prepared fundraising letter that they are planning to send out to the community. “Now, after many years of patching, the main roof and smaller roof to the south, both need to be completely replaced. There has already been water damage done to the interior second floor of the museum.”
When touring Hillcrest with Kempe on March 9, there was obvious damage, not only to the upstairs rooms, but visible damage to the amazing tin ceiling in the parlour room.
“I’m not sure, but with they way those tin panels are pulling away, there could be water coming down and getting into that ceiling,” observed Kempe.
Hillcrest Board is desperate to repair the damage and it is not going to be cheap. They are spearheading a massive fundraising drive and hoping that the community members, business people, municipality, Chamber of Commerce, and even community alumni may wish to contribute to the fund.
The Manitoba Historical Society designated Hillcrest as a historic site in 1990. In 2005, the Canadian Registry of Historic Sites designated it as Municipal Heritage Site #54.
“We know that Hillcrest is much loved by many people. There’s a sense of pride just having Hillcrest in Souris,” Kempe remarked. “Our board chairperson, Jackie Kirkup is an example of that connection to the building and what it means to Souris. She worked here as a teenager and her commitment continues to this day. It’s a testament to the love people have for Hillcrest.”
According to the Canadian Registry of Historic Sites, The F. Sowden House was commissioned by members of a locally prominent family, Fred and Maud Sowden, the son and daughter-in-law of Squire Sowden, a businessman and founder of Souris.
Squire Sowden also built the first swinging bridge to connect his properties across the Souris River.
This unique structure was meant to recall the castles of Maud’s childhood in England and India. The fanciful, yet sophisticated design, conceived by local architect Carter Brindle, is strikingly distinct from the architectural landscape of the area. Standing as the ‘prairie castle’ on the Souris riverbank, it was originally built in 1910 and it was once one of the top heritage properties in the country.
This wonderful attraction became the Hillcrest Museum in 1967 when a group of local citizens formed a committee and purchased the property. The museum houses countless historical artifacts and an amazing collection of over 5,000 butterflies from around the world.
Hillcrest board knows there are likely going to be other expenses that will pop up during the roof repair but the most important thing right now is to raise enough money to replace the roof.
“There are other, lesser repairs such as the brick and mortar and a stained glass window. Eventually we also need to replace the carpeting on the upper level,” explained Kempe. “Right now, the main focus is the roof and water damage.”
If you are able to help start off our “Reach For The Top” fundraising drive please send cheques made payable to Souris Hillcrest Museum to Box 1287, Souris, MB, R0K2C0. Donation boxes will be set up at various businesses.
by DARCI SEMESCHUK, Recorder Staff
